insulation program. CMHC provides expertise in housingrelated areas, including fee-for-service inspections and mortgage administration, largely for government departments.

Canada Museums Construction Corp. Inc. In June 1982 order-in-council PC 1982-1838 authorized the incorporation of the CMCC as a subsidiary of the Canada Lands Co., to construct new buildings for the National Gallery of Canada and the National Museum of Man. By the terms of the order-in-council, the CMCC was instructed to make recommendations to cabinet on sites, architects, design concepts and a long-term building and funding schedule.

Canada Ports Corp. was established by the Canada Ports Corporation Act, proclaimed in February 1983, amending the National Harbours Board Act, the Government Harbours and Piers Act and the Harbour Commissions Act. Ports Canada is a Crown corporation and reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Ports Canada is responsible for administration of 15 ports and to ensure they meet the federal responsibility for a national ports policy. It is also responsible for maintenance, upgrading and major expansions to port facilities to provide services to users on a competitive and cost effective basis.

The 1983 legislation gives power to establish local port corporations at any of the Ports Canada ports which meet the criteria of the Canada Ports Corporation Act. In 1983 and 1984 local port corporations were created in Vancouver, Prince Rupert, Montréal, Québec City, and Halifax. Other non-corporate ports are in: St. John's, Nfld.; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Chicoutimi, Baie des Ha! Ha!, Sept-Îles and Trois Rivières, Que.; Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont.; and Churchill, Man.

Canada Post Corp. (Canada Post). The corporation has the authority to provide products and services for the transfer of messages, information, funds and goods, including the customary postal services, in Canada and between Canada and other countries. Head office is in Ottawa with divisional offices in Halifax, Québec City, Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Edmonton and Vancouver.

Canadian Advisory Council on the Status of Women. The council received official status by order-in-council PC 1976-781 in April 1976. It advises the government and informs the public on matters pertaining to the status of women. It recommends changes in legislation and other actions to improve the position of women, and publishes research papers which are available on request.

The council consists of a president and two vice-presidents who are full-time members and 27 part-time members, appointed from each province and territory by the Governor-in-Council for three-year terms. It reports to Parliament through the minister responsible for the status of women.

Canadian Arsenals Ltd. (Arsenals Canada). The principal function of this Crown corporation is to operate facilities for the production of certain defence material and other items. It was established under the Companies Act in September 1945, and continued under the Canada Business Corporations Act in October 1980. It is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1970, c.G-7) and certain provisions of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). It reports to Parliament through the minister of supply and services.

Canadian Broadcasting Corp. The CBC is a Crown corporation established by an act of Parliament in 1936, replacing an earlier public broadcasting agency, the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission, created in 1932. The Broadcasting Act of 1968 (RSC 1970, c.B-11) describes the CBC as established by Parliament for the purpose of providing the national broadcasting service.

The corporation has a president and 14 other directors appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The president is the chief executive officer. The executive vice-president is appointed by the corporation on the recommendation of the president and with the approval of the Governor-in-Council. He is responsible to the president for the management of broadcasting operations in accordance with corporation policies.

CBC operations are financed by public funds voted annually by Parliament, with supplementary revenue obtained from commercial advertising. The CBC's accounts are audited annually by the auditor general of Canada and the corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. CCOHS is a federal Crown corporation governed by a tripartite council of governors representing labour, employers and the federal, provincial and territorial governments. It promotes health and safety in Canadian workplaces by gathering, evaluating, and distributing information.

The CCOHS inquiries service provides information on specific occupational health and safety problems posed by workers, employers and governments.

Canadian Commercial Corp. By serving as prime contractor in government-to-government export transactions, CCC facilitates the purchase, by other governments, their agencies, and international organizations, of goods and services from Canadian suppliers. Using the specialized services of the export supply directorate and product directorates of the supply and services department, CCC helps client governments and international agencies to find qualified and capable Canadian sources for commercial as well as defence-related products and services.

The corporation also serves as prime contractor in capital projects, when a government-to-government arrangement meets the needs of, and is requested by, the sponsoring foreign government and interested Canadian firms.

A wholly owned Crown corporation, CCC reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs and the minister for international trade.

Canadian Dairy Commission. This commission, which reports to Parliament through the minister of agriculture, was established in December 1966 (RSC 1970, c.C-7) to provide efficient producers of milk and cream the opportunity of obtaining a fair return for labour and investment and at the same time ensure consumers of dairy products a continuous and adequate supply. The commission consists of three members appointed by the